My Profile is a new dedicated content profile for Snapchatters under the age of 16. You can use My Profile to create, save, and showcase your favourite Stories and Spotlight videos to your friends only. Snapchatters in this age group will no longer be able to post Spotlight content visible to non-friend audiences.
How do I start using My Profile?
To start using My Profile…
- Tap your Bitmoji icon at the top of the Camera screen
- Tap ‘My Profile’ to begin onboarding
- Tap ‘Create My Profile’
- Add content to your Profile to show your friends!
Can I still share to Spotlight?
Yes. You can still post to Spotlight with My Profile. Your Spotlight posts are only visible to your friends, not to Snapchatters who aren’t your friends. Posts appear under the ‘Spotlight’ tab on My Profile, and your friends may also see them in the Spotlight section of the app.
Who can see My Profile content?
Only your friends can view your saved Stories and Spotlight posts and reposts. Snapchatters who aren’t your friends are not able to view content on your Profile.
Profile photos and background images are visible to non-friends.
Can I post to Snap Map with My Profile?
Publicly posting to Snap Map and location Stories on the Map are not available with My Profile. You can still tag your location in your Snaps, which will only be visible to friends.
How do I add content to My Profile?
You can add Snaps to My Profile from your Post Archive, Memories, or Camera Roll. These will appear under the “Stories” tab in My Profile, and are only viewable to friends.
You can post to Spotlight, and these Snaps will appear under the “Spotlight” tab in My Profile. Your friends may also see your Spotlight posts in the Spotlight section of the app.
What happens to My Profile if I become eligible for a Public Profile?
If you become eligible, you’ll see an option to upgrade to a limited Public Profile. If you upgrade, saved Story and Spotlight content you previously created will become viewable by more Snapchatters.
Please Note: Once you upgrade to a Public Profile, you can't switch back to My Profile. You can delete saved Stories or Spotlight posts, or clear your Public Profile at any time if you choose.