Please Note: This feature isn’t available in all geographic regions or all account types.
To help you browse and search Snaps saved to Memories, you can opt-in to grouping Memories by face and adding a label to these groups. These groups and any labels you add are visible only to you, and you can disable this feature at any time in Settings.
How do I see my Face Groups?
If you have opted into grouping Memories by face, you can find your face groups in Memories:
- Open Memories
- Tap the Friends tab (next to Camera Roll)
You can also find face groups by tapping the Search icon in Memories, or from Friends in My Snaps when that section appears.
How do face groups work?
If you have opted into grouping Memories by face, we’ll first check the Snaps you saved to Memories to see if they contain faces. We’ll then use a face model that generates a numerical representation of the face image, compare with other similar numerical representations and try to figure out when multiple Snaps likely show the same face. Snaps with similar faces that we believe are the same face are grouped together into "face groups” to help you quickly find Snaps with that face.
When opting into grouping Memories by face, you instruct us to make face models of the faces that are shown in your Memories. These models may be considered biometric identifiers or information under the laws of certain countries or states. If you delete your Snapchat account, we will remove your face groups, the labels you created, and the face models used to generate them. We may also delete this data if your account remains inactive for two years, though specific retention periods may vary depending on your local regulations.
What happens when I turn off face groups?
If you opt-out from grouping Memories by face, we’ll delete the face groups and associated labels from your Memories as well as the face model that generated the face groups.
What happens if I delete a Snap from my Memories?
If you delete a Snap in Memories, we’ll delete any face model generated specifically from that Snap.
How do I turn on face grouping in my Memories?
To opt in:
- Open Memories
- Tap the Friends tab
- Tap Continue on the prompt to opt in
How do I add or change a label of a face group in my Memories?
- Open Memories and tap the Friends tab (or open a group from Search or Friends in My Snaps)
- Tap the face group
- If there’s no label, tap Add a Name. To change an existing name, tap the three-dot icon and tap Change Person
- Tap Done
How do I change the cover photo for a face group?
- Open a face group
- Tap the three-dot icon
- Tap Change Cover
- Tap the Snap you want as the cover
How do I combine face groups for the same person?
- Open Memories and tap the Friends tab
- Tap Select, or press and hold a face group
- Select 2 or more groups
- Tap Combine and follow the prompts to confirm or name the combined group
How do Featured Stories and Memories notifications use face groups?
If you have opted in to grouping Memories by face, you may see names you’ve assigned to face groups in Story titles or notifications about Memories-based Featured Stories when your friend appears in them
To enable or disable Featured Stories, follow the steps below.
- In My Account, tap the gear icon ⚙️ to open Settings
- Scroll down to "App & Privacy" and tap 'My App'
- Tap 'Memories'
- Toggle the 'Flashback' setting pill on or off.
How do I turn off face groups?
You can disable face grouping in Settings. This will delete all your face groups and group labels. If you enable it again later, you may need to start over.
- In My Account, tap the gear icon ⚙️ to open Settings
- Scroll down to “App & Privacy”’ and tap ‘My App’
- Tap ‘Memories’
- Tap ‘Face Groups’
- Toggle face groups off and tap ‘Turn Off’ to confirm
After you turn face groups off, the Friends tab stays in Memories and can show you how to turn the feature back on.