Delete is our default 👻 This means most messages sent over Snapchat will be automatically deleted once they’ve been viewed or have expired. Here are some quick rules of thumb for how long different kinds of content stays on Snapchat servers!
Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete all Snaps after they’ve been viewed by all recipients.
Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete unopened one-on-one Snaps after 31 days.
Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete unopened Snaps sent to a Group Chat after 7 days.
Snapchatters can save a Snap in Chat by pressing and holding on it to save while viewing or directly after viewing a Snap. After saving a Snap, the Snap will appear in the chat as Chat Media.
Snapchatters can also delete a Snap in Chat by pressing and holding on it, then tapping 'Delete.' When a Snap is deleted from Chat, we will set it to delete from our servers. We will also make our best attempt to remove it from your friends' devices. This might not always work if someone has a bad internet connection, or is running an old version of Snapchat.
In one-on-one conversations, Chats are set to delete 24 hours after you have viewed them. You can set Chats to delete right after viewing them, though ⏰
To change when Chats delete…
- Swipe right from the Camera screen to go to the Chat Screen
- Press and hold on a friend’s name
- Tap 'More'
- Tap 'Delete Chats…'
- Tap either 'After Viewing' or '24 Hours after Viewing'
Please Note: If you switch from '24 Hours after Viewing' to 'After Viewing,' then previously viewed Chats will disappear. Your messages won’t delete right away if someone saves, replies, or reacts to your message. Learn more about saving and deleting messages.
Snapchat servers are set to delete messages sent in Group Chats one day after everyone has viewed or one week after the message was sent, whichever is sooner. You can keep messages longer if someone saves, replies, or reacts to a message. Saving a message will also keep any reactions to it.
My Story 📖
Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete Snaps you add to your Story 24 hours after they post.
You can delete a Snap from My Story at any time.
Shared Stories 📝
Snapchat servers are designed to automatically delete Snaps you add to a Shared Story 24 hours after you added them.
Shared Stories can only have 1,000 Snaps at a time — once a Shared Story has more than that, the newest Snaps will replace the oldest Snaps.
You can delete your Snaps from a Shared Story at anytime.
Please Note: Shared Story members can only save their own Snaps. Also, don’t forget that anyone else in the Story can always screenshot Snaps, too!
Memories keeps the Snaps and Stories you save, so you can look back on them at anytime! Memories are backed up by Snapchat.
If you delete a Snap from your Memories, Snapchat servers are designed to erase that Snap as soon as possible.
Stories in Search, Snaps on Context Cards, and Snaps on Snap Map 🌎
Snaps that are submitted to Snap Map and other public Stories (such as Campus Stories and Best of Spectacles) may be viewable around Snapchat for different amounts of time — some for only a day or two, while others can be viewed for much longer.
If you’d like to remove a Snap you’ve posted to Snap Map, go to the 'Spotlight & Snap Map' section in your Profile to view the Snaps, press and hold on the Snap you want to delete, and tap 'Delete Snap' to remove it — it’ll then be deleted from Search, Context Cards, and the Map, as well. Keep in mind that Snaps submitted to Snap Map and other public Stories are Public Content, and your Snap may still appear off Snapchat if it has been shared off of Snapchat.
Important ⚠️ Snapchatters who see your messages can always potentially save them, whether by taking a screenshot or by using some other image-capture technology (whether that be a separate piece of software, or even simply taking a photo of their screen with a second camera).